A Servant's Heart

Exploring how I can express love to my family by means of my service to them.

Oh, wow!

Oh, wow!  I didn’t realize how long it had been since I posted.  So, what’s been happening?  Well, the honeymoon period of having my mom live with me is pretty much over.  It’s not a bad situation; my mom is a really sweet and loving person.  But, still, who grows up and says, “Oh!  I just can’t wait to reach my mid-40’s so I can live with my mom!”  I mean, eew!  It’ll be okay though.  I signed her up at a senior center around town so that she can socialize and have something to do besides sit in my quiet red and brown living room.  My house and my neighborhood are very, very quiet.  I like all that peaceful silence.  She visited her brother for three weeks, which would have been a nice little break, except that my husband and I had unexpected guests who decided that my entire kitchen needed to be rearranged.  That was kind of weird.  Would you go visit friends and rearrange their entire kitchen, cabinets and all?  I guess they meant well.  Let’s see, what else.  My husband and I enjoyed a short trip to Vegas and I purchased a great pair of boots from Ross’s.  I’d never heard of that place.  Wish they’d build some here.  I also suffered and fought my way through the budget process at work.  That was pretty rough and demoralizing and I don’t think I have quite recovered, but I’ve been praying a lot about having some more inner peace and believe that I need to just draw back, refocus, and be more concentrated and less diluted in my efforts there.  That is a real challenge for me; I tend to be all over the place.  My son came home over thanksgiving break and it was really great to see him, and my daughter cooked a great dinner that weekend.  I’m really impressed with her kitchen skills.  Beyond that, well, that’s all I think I want to share right now.  I have a headache, so I’m going to just take a rest.  Oh, and I wanted to post what I ate so far today:

2 medium-small yellow apples

1 portion of protein salad from the Co-op

2 risotto cakes with veggies from the Co-op

2 oatmeal chocolate chip cookies – all natural of course — from my favorite Co-op bakery products

It was nice to visit the co-operative again, but it’s so different from what it used to be and in ways, it’s really a disappointment to me.  Maybe I’ll talk about that next time.

Peace out!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

